Fourth Period: Mystagogy (Post-Baptismal Catechesis)

The Easter Vigil does not mark the end of the RCIA process, but the beginning of a commitment to a lifelong discovery and living out of the Catholic Christian tradition. The fifty days from Easter to Pentecost are called the Period of Mystagogy, a Greek word meaning "entering into the mysteries". In the early Church, this time was used to explain the mysteries of the sacraments. Today, this period serves as a time for today's neophytes (newly converted) to:

  • Continue to gather, pray, and nourish their faith
  • Deepen their experiential understanding of God's word and the sacraments
  • Centre more on the apostolic or social justice aspects of Catholic Christianity
  • Claim a new role of service in the community. All Catholics are invited to active participation in parish life, which includes worship, stewardship, and fellowship.1

Postbaptismal Catechesis (Mystagogy), Journey of Faith, The Leaders Guide, Liguori Publications 2016, p. 7.

Period of Inquiry

Rite of Acceptance (Catechumens)

Rite of Welcoming


Rite of Election

Purification and Enlightenment

The Scrutinies

Easter Vigil


Becoming Catholic