Description of a Deanery

In order to foster pastoral care through common activity, several neighbouring parishes can be joined together into special groups known as deaneries. Hence, a Deanery is a pastoral region within the territorial limits of the diocese. Canon 374 §1 of the 1983 Code of Canon Law says: “every particular Church must be divided into distinct parts known as parishes”. Canon 374 §2 of same Code says: “every particular Church can also be divided into distinct groups (...), each of which is composed of several neighbouring parishes”. Each group is called a deanery.

Among the priests residing within that specific territorial region, the diocesan bishop, Archbishop Albert LeGatt, chooses a priest. This priest, called the Dean, leads the deanery. The ordinary can erect as many deaneries as needed. Deans are usually named ex officio members of the diocesan presbyteral council and of the diocesan pastoral council.

Our particular Church of Saint Boniface, or archdiocese, is made of eight (8) deaneries, click here.