• 1820                               Erected in the Red River Episcopal District                                          
  • 1845                               North West Vicariate Apostolic
  • 1847 (4 juin)                  Suffragan Diocese of Quebec
  • 1871 (22 septembre)     Metropolitan Seat

Succession of Bishops and Archbishops:

                                                 responsible for the North West Vicariate Apostolic                    

  • 1847-1853                      Mgr Joseph-Norbert PROVENCHER (1st bishop)
  • 1853-1871                      Mgr Alexandre-Antonin TACHÉ, omi (2nd bishop)
  • 1871-1894                      Mgr Alexandre-Antonin TACHÉ, omi (1st archbishop)
  • 1857-1871                      Mgr Vital-Justin GRANDIN, omi, coadjutor with right of succession,

                                                  transferred to Saint Albert (1871-1902)

  • 1895-1915                      Mgr Louis-Philippe Adélard LANGEVIN (2nd archbishop)
  • 1915-1955                      Mgr Arthur BÉLIVEAU (3re archbishop)
  • 1933-1941                      Mgr Émile YELLE, p.s.s., coadjutor with right of succession, deceased in 1947
  • 1941-1952                      Mgr Georges CABANA, coadjutor with right of succession, promoted

                                                  coadjutor of Sherbrooke, with right of succession, on January 29, 1952

  • 1952-1954                      Mgr Maurice BAUDOUX, coadjutor with right of succession
  • 1955-1974                      Mgr Maurice BAUDOUX (4th archbishop)
  • 1974-2000                      Mgr Antoine HACAULT (5th archbishop
  • 2001-2009                      Mgr Émilius GOULET, p.s.s. (6th archbishop)
  • 2009 (since)                   Mgr Albert LeGatt (7th archbishop)

Chronological History of the Diocese of Saint Boniface

To read the Chronological History of the Diocese (in French), click on 'Centre du patrimoine'.












 1st row:

Mgr Provencher, Mgr Taché, Mgr Langevin

2nd row:

Mgr Béliveau, Mgr Yelle, Mgr Cabana

 3rd row:

Mgr Baudoux, Mgr Hacault, Mgr Goulet









Our Archdiocese